gillybirds

What came first- the chickens or the blog?

How do you like your eggs in the morning?

on May 4, 2012

Well, surprise surprise I arrived back after a wee coffee with a friend to discover AN EGG on the grass! I couldn’t be more proud if I had laid it myself! 🙂 Unable to finish my cherry scone I was pleased to have a real treat for the mystery egg layer and an encouragement to her feathered friends to get laying!
These ISA Brown hens should lay 310 eggs each a year. That’s a fair few. Just delighted. Hope this means they are settling in.
We had a pastoral visit from J, our pastor’s wife and from C a dear friend who bought me fresh sushi for lunch and offered to mind the girlies when we go on holidays!
I forgot to mention that Violet rather boldly flew from the door of the coop down into the hen run first thing this morning. Quite a sight to behold, all those copper and white feathers fluttering and flapping with more enthusiasm than grace.
So now I have a dilemma – what do I do with the first egg? Boil, poach, fry, scramble or wait for more and make a celebration cake ( hen themed of course).

20120504-165944.jpg

20120504-165955.jpg

One response to “How do you like your eggs in the morning?

  1. samwylie says:

    mmm that is a dilemma… i vote for eating it now while super fresh. see how different poached really is when it’s quite that fresh…

Leave a Reply

