gillybirds

What came first- the chickens or the blog?

Nice Weather For Ducks

on June 7, 2012

It appears that for now summer is over, it is the rainy season once again and the poor hens are wading delicately through puddles. I bought a groundsheet to keep on top of the coop (replacing the lacy tablecloth) but the ladies are still very bedraggled.

Egg production has come to a halt. In despair I contacted Ian the hen supplier today who has advised me to change their feed. In the spirit of the environment I have been feeding them only organic food .”Oh aye”, says he, “I’ve no time for that organic stuff, what they need is a good dose of protein. With all that good weather last week you should be getting 4 eggs per day, 6 days per week.”
Mmmmm I replied. All I’m getting is poop, but the hens are very entertaining and I’ve started writing a blog.
There was an awkward silence.
Well says he. Change that feed and within a week things should be different.
I did suggest to a farming relation recently that my new hens weren’t laying. He advised me to wring their necks and get ducks. The fact that they have names and personalities matters not to someone who sees their animals wearing pound signs rather than name tags.
Let’s change the food and wait and see. Maybe this time next week I’ll be up to my uxters (armpits) in eggs. What a lovely thought! My new Michel Roux Eggs recipe book lies expectantly waiting to be used.
On a different tack, Apollo has developed a taste for diamonds. Every time I am in the coop she heads straight for my rings with a sparkle in her eye. A girl after my own heart!

20120607-181540.jpg

20120607-181552.jpg

20120607-181603.jpg

One response to “Nice Weather For Ducks

Leave a Reply

