gillybirds

What came first- the chickens or the blog?

Learning New Tricks

on September 26, 2013

20130926-190015.jpg

20130926-190024.jpg

20130926-190033.jpg

20130926-190047.jpg

20130926-190059.jpg
Well this year it has taken until September to fulfil my New Year’s Resolution! When September comes round I like to learn a new skill or two. At the start of 2013 I promised myself I would have a go at crochet and finally Miss CC found me a beginners class to go to at the recently opened The Textile Studio run by the lovely Åsa McDowell.
For four mornings two of us learnt to chain, slip stitch, make doubles and trebles and complete granny squares. Which when joined together make lovely blankets and throws. It’s been tremendous fun. And my kitchen has a cosy new throw, and the Second Gillyboy is packing a throw for his bed at Uni.
So as the trees turn golden, the Gillybirds are carrying on laying though the days are getting shorter, the dogs are enjoying a new comfortable throw to lie on (grrr), and new crochet friends are tasting free range fresh eggs from the coop.

20130926-190111.jpg

2 responses to “Learning New Tricks

  1. zeudytigre says:

    What a lovely, warming post. I admire your creativity 🙂

  2. amaryllislog says:

    What a lovely new talent you have found! I hope to see more!

Leave a Reply

