gillybirds

What came first- the chickens or the blog?

Home Alone

on January 29, 2014

Last weekend for the first time ever I nervously left them home alone. Days of preparation leaving enough food, making the home clean and tidy, hiding little treats around the place and providing entertainment so that boredom would not be possible and cause them to trash the place. I spent two days and nights worrying, hoping they would neither starve or over feed themselves, listening to the rain beating against the windows and hoping they were being sensible and keeping warm and dry.
This wasn’t my children, or the dogs.
This was the Gillybirds.
And they survived. And so did I.
Phew!

One response to “Home Alone

  1. zeudytigre says:

    Brilliant! I too worry when I leave my girlies. Even on longer trips, when I ask someone to check on them each day, I make contact with the ‘sitter’ to ensure all is okay. Love the idea of the hidden treats 😉

Leave a Reply

