gillybirds

What came first- the chickens or the blog?

Chickens Galore Mug

on March 12, 2014

20140312-184856.jpg
Those of you who know me well, know that I am very particular about what mugs I will drink from. (Hello Mrs R and Miss CC, and the long suffering folks in church)
Mr Gillybirds has learnt through the years that certain mugs are only for use at particular times of the day, or for a specific drink. Up until now this has been a favourite for my post-school run long and quiet cup of tea.

20140312-185533.jpg
It’s chunky, it’s as big as a bucket, and it tells the truth 🙂
A trip to one of those amazing countryside stores that sell everything from avocado dishes to tractor parts had a wonderful display of fine china mugs aimed for the rural shopper. And me. Anything with such well-observed drawings of the antics of hens belongs clearly to me. And so I bought it. And refrained from asking if I could buy the cute real life dog lying sleeping in a basket under the counter.

20140312-190143.jpg
There are hens laying, hens fighting over a worm, nurturing their chicks, scratching, pecking, and a fine image of a hen’s fluffy tail end.
The green teapot is from Suki Tea, a local company which sells delicious loose leaf tea, their Belfast Brew and Whole Peppermint are particular favourites. I don’t get commission, but I should!
Suki Tea, the best local tea, available online

One response to “Chickens Galore Mug

  1. zeudytigre says:

    Is the chicken mug a good size? I too am particular about my mugs, and like to drink my warm beverages from large vessels. Your new purchase looks very tempting, well done for finding it 🙂

Leave a Reply

